The Duplicate Contacts bookkeeping data check feature identifies contacts (customers and suppliers) in Xero that have a high probability of being added to the system more than once, in error.
There can be various reasons why duplicate contacts can occur in Xero, including the following:
As a result, the process of matching payments to bills and invoices, finding clients, addressing supplier and customer queries can become a lot more difficult and time-consuming when there are multiple contacts set up in Xero that all represent the same actual contact.
Xenon Connect’s algorithm automatically analyses all of the contacts in your Xero account and, where there are contacts that have a similar name, the system gives them a similarity % score. This provides you with an indicator of how likely the contact is to be a duplicate, with the highest similarity-rated matches being shown at the top of the list.
As well as the contact’s name showing for each contact in the potential match listing, Xenon Connect also provides the following data for each contact to make it easier for you to determine which is the primary Xero contact which should be retained:
Each of the above data types can be used to help to identify whether a contact is actively being used – and should be retained.
View Contacts in Xero
For each potential duplicated contact match identified, you are able to click the View / Merge & Archive button after which you will be taken directly to the applicable contact within your Xero account. This will allow you to investigate the likelihood of a match further.
If you determine, after review, that a particular contact should be archived (hidden) in Xero, the process can be started by clicking the “View / Merge & Archive” button within Xenon Connect.
Instructions on how to archive a contact can be found on Xero’s website here.
If you determine that 2 contacts should be merged together, so that the activity of one contact (such as invoice, bill and payment history) is moved to the main contact name, before the secondary contact is removed, then you can start the process by clicking the “View / Merge & Archive” button of the secondary contact within Xenon Connect.
Full instructions on how to merge a contact with another can be found here.
If you decide that a particular duplicate contact match is not, in fact, duplicated, then you can click the “Dismiss Match” button to hide the item and prevent that specific combination of contacts appearing as a match again.
Show Dismissed Matches
You can recheck potential duplicate contact matches that you have previously dismissed in Xenon Connect by enabling the “Show Dismissed Matches” toggle.
Bulk Process Options
The following bulk actions can be taken by using the check boxes and Bulk Process Options drop down menu:
Within the Duplicate Contacts section of the Settings page in Xenon Connect, the following preferences can be adjusted:
© 2021-2023 Xenon Connect Limited. All rights reserved - Terms - Privacy